A new All Party Parliamentary Group on New Towns has been set up, working in partnership with the TCPA. the Chair of the APPG is Lucy Allan MP, member for Telford, and other members include Dr Lisa Cameron (co-chair), Nick Thomas-Symonds MP (vice-chair), Rachel Maclean MP (vice-chair), Henry Smith MP (vice-chair), Robert Halfon MP (vice-chair), Lord Best (vice-chair) and Iain Stewart MP (Treasurer).

 The purpose of the cross-party group is to celebrate the contribution made by the UK’s New Towns and to highlight the challenges they face. The objectives of the APPG are to

  • change attitudes to New Towns and gain recognition for them;
  • make the case for investment in the regeneration and renewal of New Town infrastructure and other issues that specifically apply to New Towns; and
  • positively help shape future government policy

The APPG will hold events in parliament, including a launch networking event and a series of high-level thematic round tables. The group’s outline programme for 2018 includes the following:

  • High-profile Parliamentary launch event
  • Parliamentary roundtable 1: Unlocking skills, innovation and enterprise in New Towns
  • Parliamentary roundtable 2: Providing high quality homes in New Towns, now and in the future
  • Parliamentary roundtable 3: Healthy New Towns – improving the health and wellbeing of New Town residents

The TCPA is looking forward to working with the APPG on New Towns on future events and research and is grateful to the Lady Margaret Paterson Osborn Trust for supporting our ongoing work on Garden Cities and New Towns.

If you would like to know more about the APPG on New Towns please email [email protected]