Building the Future

Joint statement calling on government not to remove its commitment to the Garden City principles from the NPPF 

Over 50 organisations – including councils, professional bodies, trade associations, charities, developers and designers – are calling on the government to reinstate a reference to Garden City principles in the revised National Planning Policy Framework (NPPF), demonstrating its continued support for those delivering new Garden Villages, Towns and Cities.

The current NPPF requires that local authorities consider whether opportunities for large scale development, such as new settlements or extensions to existing villages or towns, that follow the principles of Garden Cities, are ‘the best way’ of achieving sustainable development. The draft revised NPPF, published for consultation on 5 March 2018, has deleted reference to these important standards.

The NPPF provides essential guidance for local authorities in their decision-making processes and is vital in securing high place-making standards. A commitment to the Garden City principles is not set out anywhere else in government policy.

Meeting the nation’s housing needs involves more than just delivering housing units; we need to create beautiful places which offer a wide range of employment opportunities and genuinely affordable homes, while enabling more sustainable lifestyles. The Garden City principles can deliver all this and are underpinned by a financial model which not only enables fast delivery but puts people at the heart of delivering new places and provides resources for the long-term stewardship and maintenance of a high-quality public realm and high-quality community facilities.

Re-committing to the Garden City principles in the NPPF is the starting point to unlocking a new generation of highly sustainable places that meet housing, employment and quality of life needs while promoting innovation. We recognise the Prime Minister’s personal commitment to building communities the nation can be proud of, and we urge the government to ensure the Garden City principles are reinstated in the NPPF.

Read the joint statement here

A list of current signatories is provided below. If you would like to support the statement please contact Katy Lock at [email protected] or on 0207 930 8903 

1              The Academy of Urbanism

2              AECOM

3              Ashford Borough Council

4              Association of Public Service Excellence

5              Bolsover District Council

6              Bonnar Allan Limited

7              Bournville Village Trust

8              Braintree District Council

9              BRE

10           Brentwood Borough Council

11           Care & Repair England

12           Chartered Institute of Housing

13           Cherwell District Council

14           Colchester Borough Council

15           Cornwall Council

16           County Councils Network

17           DAC Beachcroft LLP

18           David Lock Associates

19           East Herts District Council

20           Epping Forest District Council

21           Essex County Council

22           Fareham Borough Council

23           Garden City Developments CIC

24           The Gracechurch Group

25           Harlow Council

26           Hertfordshire County Council

27           HTA Design LLP

28           international_haus

29           The International Longevity Centre

30           John Walker Consultants Ltd

31           Joseph Rowntree Housing Trust

32           The Landscape Institute

33           The Land Trust

34           LUC

35           Letchworth Garden City Heritage Foundation

36           Maddox Associates

37           Mid Devon District Council

38           Milton Keynes Council

39           National Housing Federation

40           The Nene Park Trust

41           North East Derbyshire District Council

42           North Dorset District Council

43           North Essex Garden Communities Ltd

44           The Place Alliance

45           Places for People

46           Portsmouth City Council

47           Redrow

48           Rowen Properties (London) Ltd

49           Royal Institute of British Architects

50           Shelter

51           South Cambridgeshire District Council

52           Stafford Borough Council

53           Stevenage Borough Council

54           Tendring District Council

55           Tibbalds Planning and Urban Design Ltd

56           Town and Country Planning Association

57           UK Green Building Council

58           Urban Design Academy

59           Urban Design Group

60           URBED (Urbanism, Environment and Design) Ltd

61           Uttlesford District Council

62           Wei Yang & Partners

63           Wokingham Borough Council

64           Welwyn Hatfield Borough Council