TCPA President

Rt Hon Nick Raynsford

Nick Raynsford was the Member of Parliament for Greenwich and Woolwich from 1997-2015 (and previously for Greenwich from 1992-1997).  

He served as a Government Minister from 1997 initially in the Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions (DETR), holding responsibility for Housing, Planning and Construction as well as being Minister for London.  

He was Minister for Local and Regional Government in the Office of the Deputy Prime Minister from 2001-2005, also holding responsibility for the Fire and Rescue Service and for Resilience Planning. He was made a Privy Councillor in the 2001 New Year’s Honours.   

Nick was Shadow Minister for Housing and Construction from 1994 and Front Bench Spokesperson for London from 1993. 

TCPA Trustees

The elected Board of Trustees is legally responsible for managing the TCPA and directing its policy and strategy objectives. The Board meets regularly to carry out its responsibilities with advice from the non-executive Policy Council.

  • Andrew Pritchard (Chair)

Since 2010 Andrew has been Director of Policy and Infrastructure at East Midlands Councils, a regional local government association. In this role he supports Transport for the East Midlands (TfEM), the HS2 Growth Partnership. He also supports Midlands Connect on a part time basis.

  • Riva Kapoor (Honorary Treasurer)

Riva is a strategy consultant at L.E.K., where she advises corporates and investors on sustainable growth opportunities. She has also served as a vocal advocate for youth placemaking among global networks including PlacemakingX, the Social Life Project and Project for Public Spaces (PPS).

  • Aranvir Gawera

Aran works as a Programme Manager in the Climate Emergency Team at the London Borough of Brent. He previously worked at Belfast Healthy Cities focussed on addressing health, placemaking, and inequalities, and as a policy planner at Leicester City Council.

  • Robin Smith

Robin has held Chief Architect and Borough Planning officer roles in local government, including London Boroughs and been chief executive of four organisations – two Local Authorities and two Housing Associations.

  • Gilian MacInnes

Gilian set up Gilian Macinnes Associates in 2016 after a long career in local government. She advises primarily local authorities, and delivers training, in relation to a range of issues including effective decision making; section 106 and CIL; and affordable housing.

  • Stephanie Bamford

Stephanie is Principal of Strategy Support Service, a UK-based housing consultancy. She specialises in advising not for profit housing providers, charities and local authorities on governance, compliance and accountability, ethics, strategic planning, risk management and continuous improvement.

  • Sandra Fryer

Sandra has more than 25 years’ planning, regeneration, sustainable development, and director-level experience, mainly in the public sector and for 15 years has run her own business, providing consultancy and interim management.

  • Catriona Riddell (Vice Chair)

Catriona is a chartered town planner with extensive experience working within and with local authorities and their partners across England. As Director of Catriona Riddell & Associates, she provides support on a wide range of planning issues but specialises in strategic planning.

  • Alice Sewell

Alice is an Investment Manager at Imperial College London, a global top 10 university focused on STEMB education and research. She joined Imperial in 2019 on secondment and full time in 2021 to asset manage the Colleges Endowment property fund and investment property assets.

  • Peter Geraghty

Currently Executive Director at Hertsmere Borough Council he is an experienced practitioner having worked across the public, private and voluntary sectors. He has held senior leadership roles in several local authorities including at Southend-on-Sea Borough Council, Brentwood Borough Council and at Broadland District Council.

  • Nick Gallent

Nick is professor of Housing and Planning at UCL, where he’s worked since 1999. His research is mainly focused on housing and the planning system, but often links across to community engagement with planning, and regularly looks at rural communities and places.

  • Stuart Andrews

Stuart is a specialist planning lawyer and has been head of the National Planning and Infrastructure Consenting Team at Eversheds Sutherland LLP for over 10 years. He is a dual qualified town planner and solicitor and is both a member of the RTPI and the Law Society Planning Panel.  

  • Diane Smith

Diane was a long-serving member of staff of the TCPA and retired from her role as European Adviser in early 2020. In the latter years of her time working for the Association she primarily focused on developing and delivering projects across Europe. She also undertook a six-month maternity cover as chief executive in 2013.

  • Simin Davoudi

Simin is the sixth holder of Newcastle University Chair of Town Planning at the School of Architecture, Planning and Landscape, and Co-Director of the Centre for Researching Cities.

TCPA Policy Council

  • Karl Roberts
  • Penelope Tollitt
  • Trevor Cherrett
  • Catherine Hammond
  • Peter Ellis
  • Brian Love
  • Shelly Rouse
  • Richard Wood
  • Jeni Jackson
  • Peter Richmond
  • Gwyn Roberts
  • Barry Davies
  • Jim Davies
  • Jack Dangerfield
  • Holly Heavens

TCPA Vice Presidents

  • Gideon Amos OBE
  • Mike Ash CBE
  • Graeme Bell OBE
  • Lord Richard Best
  • Mr John Blake
  • Rt Hon David Blunkett
  • Sir Kenneth Collins
  • Lord Deben
  • John Deegan
  • Tony Fyson MBE
  • Nicky Gavron
  • Vincent Goodstadt
  • Ray Green
  • Baroness Sally Hamwee
  • Kate Henderson
  • Peter Hetherington
  • Rt Hon Keith Hill
  • Reverend James Jones
  • Jiggy Lloyd
  • David Lock CBE
  • Prof Peter Roberts OBE
  • Sir Malcolm Grant CBE
  • Pam Warhurst CBE
  • Diane Smith

Annual Reports

Each year, our Board of Trustees publishes an annual report charting setting out where we get our funding and how we have spent out money over the last 12 months.

The TCPA’s accounts dating back to 1994 can be found on the Companies House website, here.