All-Party Parliamentary Group on New Towns

A new All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on New Towns has been set up, working in partnership with the Town and Country Planning Association (TCPA).

The purpose of the cross-party group is to celebrate the contribution made by the UK’s New Towns and to highlight the challenges that they now face. The initial objectives of the APPG are to:

■ Change attitudes to New Towns and gain increased recognition for them.

■ Make the case for investment in the regeneration and renewal of New Town infrastructure and other issues that specifically apply to New Towns.

■ Positively help shape future government policy.

The Chair of the APPG is Lucy Allan, Member of Parliament for Telford, and other members include Dr Lisa Cameron MP (Co-chair), Nick Thomas-Symonds MP (Vice-chair), Rachel Maclean MP (Vice-chair), Henry Smith MP (Vice-chair), Robert Halfon MP (Vice-chair), Lord Best (Vice-chair), and Iain Stewart MP (Treasurer).

The group’s outline programme for 2018 includes:

■ 17 January: Parliamentary reception to celebrate the launch of the new All-Party Parliamentary Group on New Towns

■ 14 March: Parliamentary Roundtable 1: Providing high-quality homes in New Towns, now and in the future

■ 11 July: Parliamentary Roundtable 2: Healthy New Towns – improving the health and wellbeing of New Town residents

■ 7 November: Parliamentary Roundtable 3: Unlocking skills, innovation and enterprise in New Towns

Please note, attendance at events is by invite only. 

If you would like to know more about the APPG on New Towns, please email [email protected] or follow the New Towns APPG on Twitter @NewTownsAPPG

All events are supported by Places for People and the Lady Margaret Patterson Osborn Trust.

TCPA New Towns Network

Following on from the research project New Towns & Garden Cities: Lessons for Tomorrow, and in the context of government’s renewed interest in New Towns and the New Towns Act, in 2016 TCPA held a series of roundtables across the United Kingdom with the New Town authorities to understand how to raise the profile of the New Towns and understand their specific renewal needs and promote their growth opportunities.

The roundtables were held in Warrington, Edinburgh, Belfast and Milton Keynes and provided an opportunity to:

  • share experience of growth and renewal opportunities and challenges in new towns across the UK.
  • discuss how the new towns can best be celebrated and their specific needs and opportunities recognised by government.
  • explore the opportunity for and potential remit of a new towns group - a network of new town local authorities.
  • provide new town authorities with an update of current government interest in new towns legislation.

Full details of the TCPA New Towns Network and further events will be available on this website soon. 

Please contact Katy Lock for further details ([email protected] or on 0207 930 8903).