Heart of the New Town

This resource is part of a collection called Tomorrow 125 films.

2016 Marks 70 years of the New Towns Act, and the designation of the first New Town at Stevenage. The New Towns Act would lead to the designation of 32 New Towns across the United Kingdom, which today provide homes for over 2.8 million people.

This short film was created by the TCPA to mark these anniversaries and to highlight some of the lessons – good and bad – that we can learn from the New Towns programme as we address today’s acute housing shortage and need to deal with challenges such as climate change.

This short film was made possible by the support of the Lady Margaret Patterson Osborn Trust, and with thanks to Stevenage Borough Council, Emma Chapman (Stevenage Youth Mayor 2016) and Stevenage Museum.